February 19, 2013 Week 3 Feeling The Spirit

Image

Sister Hunsaker with Uncle Joe at the MTC drop off

Hello everyone!

It’s  great to hear from you! P day is officially my favorite day of the week. It’s  honestly the best. Especially since we have service on Monday mornings at 6 am.
Some updates from this week:
Dad, the key card thing on my waist is a card to get into all the buildings, and you have to use it for your meals too. basically keep it on you at all times and hope that you dont lose it. otherwise it could be problematic.

Mom, for Relief Society the other day Sister Reeves came and spoke to us! The one that used to be over the Riverside Mission but now she’s in the General Relief Society presidency.

We have gym time 4 times a week in the gym. The other day is “personal exercise” which means basically do a workout in your room because you can’t  use the gym. But the fitness center is great. They have a bunch of workout machines, and then they have televisions that play church movies like the Joseph Smith story or Prophets talks that you get to listen to. But thats all the media you get.

Also, thanks for the Valentine’s Day bouquet! All the elders in my district were jealous. I just told them my family is awesome.

As for our investigators:
We have 2 investigators. One of them is Shimada Yuki. He’s golden. We have taught him two lessons so far. On our second lesson we taught him the gospel of Jesus Christ and he accepted the invitation for baptism. His date is set for March 2nd I believe.

Our other investigator is Nagashimada Hitomi. She’s a lot harder to teach. She’s married to Keita, who is an inactive member of the church. She likes listening to the missionaries, but she isn’t actually one for keeping commitments. It’s hard because she doesn’t want to do anything without her husband. So we can’t really commit her to go to church or anything like that. She wants to be baptized so that her and Keita can go to the temple and be sealed as a family with their daughter Nanaka, but she won’t set a date. She just says… someday. sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooofrustrating sometimes.

(Side note: our investigators are actually our teacher here at the MTC, Brother Brinley and Sister Clark. Both amazing missionaries.)

The language is coming along a lot better. I finally feel like I’m starting to tread water instead of just doggy-paddling along. Late last week I finished memorizing the first vision in Japanese, and in our first lesson with Shimada-san, I was able to tell him about Joseph Smith and recite the first vision to him without notes. The spirit in that room was amazing. I’m here to testify that it definitely doesn’t have a language barrier.
It’s still difficult to learn, but I can bear my testimony without notes now, and form sentences that are pretty basic. Of course I still understand so much more than I speak. But that’s definitely the gift of tongues in action.

Devotionals here are also amazing. The last one we had was on faith and miracles. Something I know has a strong correlation. Since today is Tuesday, we have a devotional tonight that will probably be by someone in the 70, or maybe even the 12 eek! Everyone says the Prophet has to come eventually, just to see how jam packed the mtc is.

Doing laundry honestly takes 3 hours, and you have to be vicious in trying to get washers. I  jumped over a table this morning to get to a washer before someone else. Haha the  joys of p day!

hmmm what else… I’m completely recovered from the cold, but I’m pretty sure one of the elders in our district gave me pink eye. I’ve had to wear glasses the last few days. No swelling or anything, but my eye is super bloodshot. Looks a lot better than yesterday though. The MTC is honestly germ heaven. When we first got here they told us not to shake hands with anyone because of the risk of spreading the flu. It’s like a zombie apocalypse. No joke.

Tell the kodomotachi they better write me back soon. I sent all of them letters. Of course we haven’t got mail for like the last three days, so maybe they wrote me.

I saw Sister Jones again yesterday. She left this morning! how crazy is that! We took a picture together, so I’ll try to send you another email with some pictures in it. Maybe the computers will behave today. We shall see.

There’s also an older Brother and Sister Hunsaker that are Branch Presidents here. I didn’t have the chance to talk to them though.

So any updates from home? anything interesting/exciting going on? Just so you know…. letter are like Christmas around here. just saying. 🙂

So maybe just a little piece of a lesson that we shared the other day on prayer:

Kamisama wa watashitachi no Ten no Otosama desu. Inori ni yotte, Kamisama wa watashitachi o hanashimasu. Kamisama ga inori o kotaemasu da to shitte masu. and… my time is up. I love you all! I can’t  wait to hear from you again 🙂 6 weeks to go!

ai shitemasu,

Sister Hunsaker

P.S. we get new missionaries in the Japanese branch this week. yay!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sister Dabbs
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 19:42:08

    Suzanne you are inspirational. I will share this information with Aubrey. She plans on serving a mission also and is going to be excited and inspired to follow you. Thank you for serving The Lord.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

