March 26, 2013 Week 8 Nihon ni ikimas!

Hey Everyone!

So this will be my last email from the MTC. how crazy is that? When I get to Japan my P day will be on Monday, so you should get the emails late Monday night I think. We just got a letter from our mission president that gave us the low down on what will happen when we get there. We have to bring a carry on with us with clothes to live off of for a few days because our luggage is being shipped to our first area. When we first get to Japan, we will stay at the mission home for a night for orientation and then we’re off to the field! crazy stuff.
OH! and i got my flight plans. we leave the MTC at 5 am to go to salt lake where we catch a lay over to LAX. I think we get to lax at like 9:30, and then our flight leaves at 12:30. so if i call you guys, it would most likely be between 9 and 12 california time. or super early in the morning. Should I call the house? or mom/dads phone. let me know in a letter. I don’t know if I’ll get the chance to email again before I leave.
I’m so excited to get to see Brooklyn!!!!!!!!! I actually get to be a missionary host this week on Wednesday so I might even be the one that takes her to her classroom and such. That would be awesome πŸ™‚ Also, I see Elder Phillips pretty much every day here. His class is just across the hallway and we run into each other all the time. I’ll be sure to send a picture with the next email.
Sister Wright and I got to teach Shimada again and it was fantastic! We taught him about the Word of Wisdom and obedience to God’s commandments. We were supposed to take a pamphlet with us so he could read it, but when we got into the lesson we realized we had forgotten the pamphlet and I had to pull of saying the whole thing in Japanese. Amazingly enough I pulled it off. We also had an awesome scripture moment. He was saying that it was going to be hard and he didn’t know if he could do it. He’s been reading the Book of Mormon, so I shared Nephi 3:7 with him but changed it a little bit, “watashi shimada-san wa, Ten no Otosama ni…” And I Shimada said unto my Heavenly Father…” I’m sure you can see where that was going. He really liked that scripture and thanked us for our testimonies. He agreed to live the Word of Wisdom and will be baptized March 30. Because of time constraints it was our last lesson with him before we leave, but we’re glad it went so well πŸ™‚
We also got to go to TRC this week which was super fun. I hadnt been in 3 weeks and TRC was definitely one of my favorite parts of the MTC. we got to teach on the power of prayer. Which is definitely something that I gained a testimony of while being at the MTC. Also, my district is amazing. I’m going to be so sad to see them go. Our District leader right now is fantastic as well. Missing class again this week was rough, and I finally pulled him aside and asked him to give me priesthood blessing. I am so glad that I did. It made me feel that much closer to my Heavenly Father and know that everything that is happening right now is happening for a reason.
Β I love the MTC experience but I am sooooooooooooo ready to get out of here. This week was fantastic and spiritual and all that wonderful stuff, but I’m ready to go. Nihongo wa muzukashii desu, kedo Nihon ni ikitai desu. πŸ™‚ (Japanese is difficult, but I want to go to Japan). I love getting letters and pictures from everyone, it makes my week that much more awesome. I hope the family is all doing well. And tell Taylor to stop being a dingo and write me back one of these times. I’ll write you all letters today as well πŸ™‚
ai shite masu yo!
Sister Hunsaker
Leave a Reply

