May 27, 2013 week 18 Tan lines and tracting

konnichiwa!

Things are starting to heat up here in Japan. It actually feels really great. Incredibly humid, but I don’t mind it. It currently feels a little warmer than Hawaii, but I’ve heard that by the end of summer, you’re just perpetually wet. i. can’t. wait. that being said, as a sister missionary you get some pretty sweet tanlines. I’m currently sporting a CTR ring tan line, watch tan line, and shoe strap tan line. (aside from the obvious farmers tan that is inevitably coming) I’ll send some more pictures when they become a little more defined.

We had a lot going on this week, but all of it was great, and im looking forward to the week ahead! We did a lot of finding/tracting this week, and we actually met a few really sweet people that we have appointments with later on this week πŸ™‚ the picture of me in front of the sign that is written in Japanese was seriously the highlight of my day. it says “Kirisuto wa anata ni eien no inochi o ataeru” (or something like that) which translates to, “Christ will give you eternal life”. you better believe we stopped and knocked on that house. go figure no one was home. but you never see things like that in Japan. Usually its pulling teeth just to get people to believe that there is a God out there.

I made a nihonjin friend on the train to this week! It seems like a silly thing to be excited about, but I think it was really one of the first times I tried to talk to someone all on my own and get to know them. Her name is Miki. and she is a college student. I couldn’t understand completely everything she said, but it was encouraging to know that I could somewhat do it on my own. Before we got off the train Miki. said she wanted to meet again! :)she gave me her email and phone number, so Sister Vail and I are hoping to set something up with her this week. Maybe she’ll even become an investigator. How great would that be?

I had the chance to go on exchanges this week with Sister Long. Because of all the sister missionaries in the field, they created this thing called a Sister Training Leader. Its like the equivalent of a zone leader. They do exchanges with the other sisters, and they go to all the trainings that the elder zone leaders have to go to. Sister Long is really an amazing missionary. Its fun to see how other missionaries have different approaches in terms of dendo, and I picked up a few things from her that I’m looking forward to trying in the field, like using the pictures in the front of the Book of Mormon to tell its story, and explain it to people. on Saturday we had the chance to teach a lesson together to one of our Eikaiwa students, Laxman. He is from Nepal and doesn’t speak too much Japanese, but he speaks some English. It’s a little hard sometimes because we don’t quite know exactly how much he understands. For his first lesson we actually dove in and taught the Word of Wisdom. We’ve invited him to church a few times, and he told us that’s reason he couldn’t go was because on saturday nights he would go out drinking and come Sunday morning he wouldn’t be…. well fit to come to church. But before Eikaiwa this Wednesday he told us that he really wanted to stop, he just didn’t know how. He was really receptive during the lesson, and when we talked about baptism at the end, we could tell he really wanted that chance to start a new life. He agreed that after he studied some more, he would want to be baptized. Hopefully we can get him some church member friends so that these habits he is struggling with will be easier to overcome.

Fun thing of the day πŸ™‚ today we did this thing called purikura. I attached a photo of it. It’s basically this huge Japanese photobooth that you stand in, and it makes you look super perfect (and Japanese) in all the pictures. It makes your eyes bigger, airbrushes on some make up. Its hilarious. hopefully you’ll be able to tell by the pictures.
I read a scripture in Exodus this week that I loved. Its Exodus 4:10-12.

10 And Moses said unto the Lord, O my Lord, I am not eloquent, neither heretofore, nor since thou hast spoken unto thy servant: but I am slow of speech, and of a slow tongue.
11 And the Lord said unto him, Who hath made man’s mouth? or who maketh the dumb, or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? have not I the Lord?
12 Now therefore go, and I will be with thy mouth, and teach thee what thou shalt say.

It made me realize how important it is to open your mouth without fear, and that its not by our power that we speak, but by Heavenly Father’s. As long as we have faith in Christ, why should we fear anything that comes our way?
sorry, I dont have a ton of time today, but i love you all! stay awesome πŸ™‚

love,
sister hunsaker

20130527-072252.jpg

20130527-072312.jpg

20130527-072327.jpg

20130527-072645.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mellissa hafer
    May 27, 2013 @ 15:17:15

    Fun stories. Love it. What in the world are you frying in that pan?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

