June 3, 2013 week 19 “Having Been Born Of Goodly Parents”

Konbanwa!

Today has definitely been a crazy p-day, so I’m just now getting around to writing this. One of our investigators called us this morning and said she had the day off, so we went to a mall with her and walked around and shopped and talked. She’s super cute. Her name is Akiko Handa.  Her birthday is this week, so we are going to have a little birthday party for her at the church with some other investigators.

This week I feel like I got to visit all over the mission! On Tuesday night, we went to the mission home to stay the night for a meeting the next day on Wednesday. Utsunomiya is the farthest away from the mission home, so Sister Budge invited us over. That night was lots of fun, and in the morning Sister Vail. and I went for a run with Sister Budge around Tokyo. She is in great shape. Literally gave us both a run for our money (hehe.) After that, we helped make breakfast and got to eat with her and President Budge and talk to him. It was really nice just getting to see them in that setting. They have so many missionaries to take care of, but just from that breakfast I could tell how much they care about each one of us individually. On wednesday we went down to Nakano (Tokyo) for a new missionary meeting, where they just talked to us about how things were going, and we got some training on how to do better streeting and so on. Lots of fun. I still think mogis (role playing) are the most awkward thing of all time, but they always pay off in the end.

Thursday was GREAT. SO AMAZING!!!!! So i know that I’ve mentioned the Nakayasu. family before, but we had the chance to teach Brother Nakayasu. and Kevin again. This time we talked about the priesthood, and about making sure that we put the important things first in our lives. (Like coming to church instead of work for Brother Nakayasu). He was really touched by the lesson, and we could tell that he wants so badly to get the priesthood so that he can baptize Kevin. After the lesson he told us that he would come to church for the two weeks prior to Kevin’s baptism, and that he would do everything he could so that he could get the priesthood. The Spirit there was amazing, and the whole family looked so happy afterwards. After the lesson when we got home, we called Bishop Nara. and talked to him about Brother Nakayasu. He told us that if everything goes as planned, and he makes it to church those 2 weeks, he can get the priesthood and baptize Kevin:) Sister Vail. and I were almost in tears when we heard Bishop say it. We called Brother Nakayasu. after that, and we could tell he was equally excited. On saturday when we saw Sister Nakayasu. again, she just ran up and gave us both a big hug and just kept saying thank you. That whole family is so special to me, and just knowing that they are that much closer to becoming an eternal family makes being on a mission worth every second. Even if I never saw another baptism, I would be happy knowing that I helped them in that small way.

Saturday was probably the most interesting day of my mission. So, on Monday, we met this woman named Yuka at a stoplight. She was really nice and asked us if we could have lunch with her at the end of the week, so that we could tell her a little more about what we believe. Golden investigator right? “Samsonsite. We were waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay off.” We met Yuka and her friend at a Chinese restaurant and had plans on taking them on a tour of the church afterwards. When we tried to bring up taking them to the church, she just said, “Oh, we’ll talk about that later”. So it turns out that the two women we met are from this strange group in Japan that focuses on a new type of Buddhism. They want the whole world to become this one religion so that everyone is safe. They stand on street corners and hand out newspapers on them that talk about how you can find safety in their religion and statistics about how many people are in Japan. Its kind of incredibly strange actually. I’ve never been so glad to not completely understand Japanese in my life. (in fact, the church members told us that if we ever run into them, to just act like we don’t speak Japanese). But, the part that really kind of got to Sister Vail . and I was the way that they talked about Jesus Christ. They think America is a dangerous place, and they also think that everyone who lives there is Christian. Therefore they make the assumption that Jesus Christ does nothing for people, and that there is no way he can save you or protect you. Even the way they said his name made me feel disgusting. Unfortunately we couldn’t get up and just leave because we were all on the same check. Before we finally just got up and said we had to go, they asked me how long I had been Christian for. I told them that both my parents were Christian so I had grown up in the church.The response we got was, “Oh. So you just believe it because your parents do”. Ouch. We left shortly after that. But afterwards, I was thinking about my personal testimony, where it came from, and how I gained it. This is what I came up with. Yes, I was raised in the church, but I know that little by little I gained my own testimony based off what my parents taught me, and experiences I had on my own with things like girls camp, church, and youth conference. Then I thought about the Book of Mormon. The keystone of our religion starts off with “I, Nephi, having been born of goodly parents, therefore I was taught somewhat in all the learning of my father…” Even Nephi, one of the greatest heroes in the Book of Mormon, recognizes that he got where he was because of what his parents taught him. The other thing that I liked was my favorite primary song:

We have been born, as Nephi of old,
To goodly parents who love the Lord.
We have been taught, and we understand,
That we must do as the Lord commands.

We have been saved for these latter days
To build the kingdom in righteous ways.
We hear the words our prophet declares:
“Let each who’s worthy go forth and share.”

We know his plan, and we will prepare,
Increase our knowledge through study and prayer.
Daily we’ll learn until we are called
To take the gospel to all the world.
We are as the army of Helaman.
We have been taught in our youth.
And we will be the Lord’s missionaries
To bring the world his truth.

How true is that. So basically, thanks Mom and Dad. for teaching me everything I know, and helping me to get where I am today. I was proud to tell those women that I knew that my parents believed it, and because of their testimonies, and what I gained from that, I came to know for myself that this is the true church restored on the earth, and that through the gospel I can be with my family forever. And that is one of the greatest blessings I could ever think of.

I love you guys,

Sister Hunsaker

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mellissa hafer
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 23:33:38

    Your parents hearts are bursting with joy and gratitude at reading these words I can assure you. The definite joy of parenthood to see/hear your kids become so wise and valiant and faithful. It’s every parents dream realized. What an incredible gift you are giving them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

