December 3, 2013 Week 45 Half Full

I know, I know, another letter a few days late in coming. But! I have a good excuse for this one. We went to the Tokyo Temple today ๐Ÿ™‚ So P-day was actaully moved from Monday to Tuesday. But, this week was… a cup half full. I’ll explain more later.

On Tuesday, we went over to Maebashi because we had interviews with President Budge. They happen every 2 transfers. You know talk to the missionaries, see how everything is going, and so on and so forth. Being able to meet with President Budge is great, he always has amazing insights on how to help our investigators, and strengthen the areas we are in. We also talked a lot about Oizumi and the future of it. We only have 3 brazilian missionaries in the mission, and then 2 sisters that speak Spanish (My companion and another) plus me, who speaks the broken portuguese haha. President Budge asked me how long I had been in Oizumi, and told me that ideally, he would like to move me out of the area so that they could use me in other parts of the mission. But then he told me that they need me in Oizumi, and asked if I would be willing to stay a long time here. Of course I said yes. So, I don’t think I’ll be going anywhere anytime soon, but transfer calls are next week, so we will wait and see.
After interviews with President Budge, Sister Carrasco and I had the chance to work with our sister training leader here in Oizumi. Its like exchanges, but for sister missionaries. The exchange was way good, and we got to visit a lot of awesome people.
First, we saw darling Celia. We talked about how Christmas is coming up, and how we can all sacrifice something as a type of Christmas present for Christ. Celia told us that she wants to put God first more in her life. We told her transfers were coming up and she started freaking out. She told Sister Carrasco and I we basically weren’t allowed to leave. She thanked us for all that we have been teaching her, and helping her to find the word of God. Now if she would just come to church. But we told her that we would come back to let her know whether or not we were transferring, so we can work on her then.
After visiting Celia, we had a little more time before we had to be home, and we felt a little bad that we had took our training leader to appointments that were either in portuguese or spanish, so we decided to go visit Bruna. Bruna has an awesome testimony of the church, but one thing that she struggles with is reading the Book of Mormon. So, we shared a thought with her about testimony and compared it to basket ball, something she loved. We all know that when we don’t practice a sport, we get really bad at it, our muscles are weak, and we don’t have the strength to play well. We told Bruna that faith, and our tesimonies, are the same. If we exercise our faith and our testimonies, by doing things like reading the Book of Mormon and coming to church, we can keep our testimonies strong and be able to stand as a witness of Christ. We followed up with Bruna a few days after that, and she’s been reading. ๐Ÿ™‚ I just bought her a mini triple combination at the temple today, so Im planning on writing my testimony in it in Japanese and giving it to her for Christmas ๐Ÿ™‚ She deserves it.

On Wednesday we had a lesson with Duda. It wasn’t very long because we had to run, but we talked a little bit more about her baptism. By then we were a little worried because she hasn’t been to church for 2 weeks, and we havent been able to get her baptismal information from her mom yet. I had no clue there were a billion forms to fill out for baptism until I was a missionary. Its quite the process.

Friday… Friday was hard. We were supposed to meet with Doris but couldn’t because she wasn’t home, and every appointment after that fell through. Like every single one we had planned. So… we knocked doors, and couldnt find anyone to listen. Not my favorite day, but you need those ones to appreciate the great ones.

Saturday. Saturday had its ups and downs. We gained one investigator, and lost a different one. We went to visit Noriko our Peruvian investigator, but by the way things were going when we were talking to her, we knew that she wasn’t progressing. She hasn’t been reading or coming to church, and anytime we try to make a next appointment she side steps the question. So, we’re giving her a break for a little bit.
But, on Saturday we also got to visit the Takamura family. Also Peruvian. Before, we were teaching the daughter, Sayuri. She was just diagnosed with some severe mental problems including depression, Her mom had to quit her job to stay at home with her, and then the father of the family just had leg surgery, so he hasn’t been working lately either. We went over to teach them on Saturday, and we were able to sit down with Sayuri and her mom. We talked a lot about finding peace through the gospel, and Senora Takamura told us about a member family that they were really close with in Peru. She said she always noticed something different about them just from the way that they acted amongst each other as a family. And they seemed to have such a light within them. So make sure to let your light shine my friends, you never know who is watching.

Sunday was good as well. Unfortunately Duda didn’t come to church again. Which is a problem. We don’t want her to be less active before she is even baptized. But we’ll talk about that later. However this fast and testimony meeting was really spiritual, and one of the recent converts in the ward got up and bore his testimony about how happy he has been since being a member of this church. He says that everyone tells him he is different, and he knows it is because he is going to church every Sunday. Brother and Sister Lagunes also got up and bore their testimonies about missionary work, and how when we came to their house on Monday it brought a special spirit into their home and gave them a greater desire to assist in the work. I hope that can give all the members an extra “umph” to be member missionaries as well.

Monday was great, and INCREDIBLY STRESSFUL. First we had a lesson with this really cute Brazilian girl named Diane She’s a young mom, her daughter Emmaneula is almost a year old. We found her housing a few weeks ago, and had the chance to come talk to her again. She’s curious about our church, but really won’t read anything but the Bible. So when we teach her, we pretty much have to use verses from the Bible. Which is a bit of a challenge, but until we can get her to believe in the Book of Mormon its our only shot. From there, we went to the Noguti house to talk with Duda. At this point, we were incredibly worried about her baptismal date, and after fasting on Sunday we both agreed she needed more time. That lesson was so incredibly hard. But at the end was one of the best. When we first got there, we talked about the importance of the Sabbath day, and how we need to come to church. And then we told Duda we needed to change her baptismal date because she hadn’t been coming to church. She was incredibly upset. We talked a little more and assured her that the day didn’t matter, it just mattered that she was prepared. The consoling and talking went on for almost a half hour. Us trying to explain why the date needed to be changed, and Duda almost in tears at the prospect of moving her date. That was when Bruna got home. We asked her to come join us, and tell us why she was worried about Duda being baptized. Her fear is that her little sister doesn’t understand yet what baptism is. That it isn’t the end, and that she has to keep trying. That and the fact that their mother isn’t a member makes Bruna worry that it will be hard for them to stay active. We asked Bruna if she believed some day her Mom would be baptized. Her response was hesitant, and her eyes told us no. We shared Moroni 7:33 with her and asked her to read it out loud. “And Christ hath said: If ye will have faith in me ye shall have power to do whatsoever thing is expedient in me.” Bruna was the first member that I met here in Oizumi, and then I met Duda and Kamilla. And I told them that the first time I met them, I knew that they were an incredibly special family, and that I knew I was supposed to meet them for a reason. Of course as I was saying this I was sniffling, and by the end of it Bruna and Duda were too. I guess its contagious. But there was a really special Spirit in the Noguti home that night, and we asked them to keep praying for each other and for their mom. Because if there is anything that will cause Debora to have a change of heart, it will be the example of her daughters.

And today, the temple. There’s no way to describe the peace you can feel there. Its like heaven on Earth ๐Ÿ™‚

But I won’t lie, as I was getting ready to write my email this week, all I could think about was really the things that went wrong, or the things that we could have done better. I honestly considered just sending a short message that said I couldn’t write this week because things were busy. But, I read the emails in my inbox before writing this letter. I hope you all know how amazing you are. My family and my friends. You inspire me to be such a better missionary and a better disciple of Christ. Every letter I read this week had testimony of some gospel truth, or a spiritual experience written in it. It really changed my outlook that I had this week. The glass went from being half empty to half full :). In portuguese you can say, “vocรชs forte me fazem.” It means, “you make me strong”. Its so true. Your testimonies make me strong, and help me to remember that we dont have to do these things along, because we have the Lord on our side. So, this email is a novel because I had to share how amazing this week was with all of you. And thank you all for helping me to see it that way ๐Ÿ™‚

I love you more than all the rice in Japan ๐Ÿ™‚

Sister Hunsaker

20131203-084902.jpg

20131203-084916.jpg

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mellissa Hafer
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 19:09:12

    Awesome sister H! I’ll send you an email soon !

    Mellissa E. Hafer๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ˜Š
    Sent from my iPhone๐Ÿ“ฑ
    951-707-3928

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

