April 20, 2014 Week 65 “Feliz Pascoa”

Boa tarde gente!

So much to update you on it’s crazy.

This week was amazing. Really the best. I wasn’t surprised when we got transfer calls, but I was incredibly excited to get back to Oizumi. But, my last few days in Tsukuba were really amazing as well. Sister Hanashiro and I had a lesson with this new investigator named Tsuhaku that was really great. We taught her the restoration. And she was so open to all of it! I even invited her to be baptized at the end of the lesson, and she said yes. Wooooooow. It was a great reminder at The Lord really does prepare people. And from there… Everything flips from Japanese back to Portuguese.

My first day back in Oizumi we saw literally one of the coolest miracles I have seen yet on my mission. In the middle of Eikaiwa, we got a call from the mission president and he said he wanted to talk to me. busted. Just kidding 🙂 he was calling to tell me about an investigator that he had heard about named Linda, but the sisters had never taught her. So basically he called and told me to get on it and talk to her. Yes sir! And we did talk to Linda. Mind blown. Basically, she’s kind of had a hard life, but really wants to follow God. A while ago, she had a dream, and in the dream she was trying to find a path, but in order to get to the right place, she needed to meet a man named Smith. In the end, she found him, and he guided her to God, to the truth. Crazy right? It gets better. A while after that, a banner for the church popped up on something while she was on the internet, and she clicked on it, and realized it was what she had dreamed about! She asked for a free copy of the Book of Mormon so she could study more, but it never came. and then, she moved to Japan, Oizumi, and got an Eikaiwa flyer in her mailbox and decided to check in out. And now here she is. Wow, right? I ran over to her after Eikaiwa and we started talking a little bit, and then Sister Cortes came and joined me, and eventually we pulled up some chairs and had a lesson right there. We taught her the Plan of Salvation, and she just absorbed everything. And kept saying, I want to learn, so please teach me! No worries, we can do that. She said she would try really hard and come to church, but she didn’t make it. We had three people say they would come today and none of them did… Kind of sad, but we’ll keep working hard.

And the other days of the week we started getting out and finding people. It’s getting easier and easier to switch back and forth from Japanese to Portuguese, which is a relief, because when you knock on someone’s door you have to be ready to respond in whatever language they talk to you in. The one I have yet to master is Tagalog. I don’t think I’ll ever learn that one though.

But my favorite day of the week was of course, Sunday. It was SO great to see the members again. I missed them all so much. Most of them already knew I was coming back, but there were a few that seemed pretty shocked haha. Sunday just about melted my brain as well. Sacrament meeting we translated Portuguese to English, and then Sunday school was English to Portuguese and Portuguese to Japanese. Depending on who was talking during the lesson. and then my companion and I taught young women’s in Japanese. Lucky for me Sister C is amazing, and a master of languages, so we were able to tag team on some things.

But being back in Oizumi this week made me realize exactly how much I missed it. The members have truly become my family. A part of me forever. And there are so many amazing people here in Oizumi that I know I need to find and help. Yesterday was Easter as well. Feliz Páscoa! Happy Easter! There is a really amazing video that the church produced called ‘Because of Him’ you should all watch it if you get the chance. It’s a wonderful reminder of what Christ did for us so that we can live again. I love you all so much, have a wonderful week 🙂 until next time, I love you more than all the rice in Japan 😊❤️🍚

Love,
Sister Hunsaker

Story of my mission. Portuguese and Japanese 🙂

I love Oizumi❤️

20140424-081009.jpg

20140424-081022.jpg

Leave a Reply

